Speakeasy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Speakeasy

Working on it

Why do you love Martial Arts?

Rainkyusen
    Rainkyusen

Why do you love Martial Arts? Empty Why do you love Martial Arts?

Post by Rainkyusen Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:32 am

Here are a few reasons why I enjoy martial arts as a great and invigorating hobby/lifestyle.

When I first started doing martial arts I was a beginner in a world of masters. Nervous is not a word that would describe how I felt despite the fact that I was a novice. Joining martial arts was one of the best choices I’ve ever made and even when I stop I know that the knowledge, friends, experience and life lessons I gained from this will stay with me forever.

First, the knowledge that I gained from doing martial arts is a different kind than that of school. I was taught how to defend myself from single to multiple attackers and how to be respectful to all around me. My masters taught me always to respect my parents, my friends and most importantly myself. My karate master would say stuff like “go home and do all your chores and then think about other things. And maybe even do your parents chores.” He was completely serious so sometimes I would do as many chores as I could so I could go back and train guilt free. The main points that I gathered from my time as a martial artist was to be respectful, careful, cautious, gentle, strong, strict, honorable, kind and most importantly a good teacher.